The Energy Division and the Petroleum Division are the primary Divisions that administer and implement the MMERE’s mandates and functions in the energy sector. The primary mandate for the performance of these functions is provided for by the Petroleum Act, The Petroleum Exploration Act and the Electricity Act and Regulations. These functions include: