The supply of electricity to urban areas in the Solomon Islands is the responsibility of the Solomon Islands Electricity Authority (SIEA), better known as Solomon Power. However, the Minister of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification (MMERE), through the Energy Division’s Policy, Planning and Management Section and the Division’s Electricity Section, is responsible for ensuring that Solomon Power, in administering the Electricity Act is able to adequately meet national government policy objectives.

Rural Electrification

The Energy Division’s Electricity Section is also responsible for planning, designing and implementing national rural electrification projects throughout the Solomon Islands.

Renewable Energy

Electricity generation from renewable energy sources is the responsibility of the Energy Division’s Renewable Energy Section which is responsible for the development of renewable energy sources to replace conventional fossil fuel in electricity generation and transportation sectors. Some of the resources being investigated by the Section for electricity generation include hydrological and geothermal energy sources.

Learn More

pdf Electricity Act (286 KB)


Contact the Energy Division